National Association of Watch & Clock Collectors
2018 Pritchard Prize


The NAWCC proudly supports the Wilbur L. Pritchard Award and accepts the rights and powers for its administration.

The Pritchard Prize was developed by the late Kathleen Pritchard and is funded through the estate of her late husband Wilbur L. Pritchard. It is intended to provide an annual gift for individual excellence in watch repair or restoration.

Entries for the Pritchard Prize may be submitted by persons from any country and membership in the NAWCC is not required.

Amateurs and professionals are encouraged to apply. The NAWCC has the right to defer the Pritchard Prize competition until a minimum of three participants submit applications.

Pritchard Prize Rules

1. The repair or restoration project must have been completed between April 1, 2014 and April 1, 2018.

2. Provide a project narrative.

3. Provide information and provenance on the watch including maker, circa, location of manufacture, previous owners, if known, previous repairs, if known and any other available information.

4. Provide step-by-step documentation and photographs of the repair or restoration.

5. Provide a biographical sketch for the submitter.

6. List other persons assisting with the repair or restoration, research, photography and documentation and their specific role.

7. If the watch being submitted is not owned by the submitter, please include a letter of support from the owner allowing the publication of information and photos on the watch.

8. Submit one copy of all requested documentation and photographs. This copy will not be returned but will be retained in the NAWCC archives.

9. Submit the watch for examination. The watch is to be shipped insured and traceable. After examination by the Pritchard Prize Jury, the watch will be returned insured and traceable. Please be sure the watch is well packed. Please provide the value of the watch for insurance purposes.

10. Submissions must be received by April 1, 2018.

The watch and documentation are to be shipped to:

Pritchard Prize, c/o Museum Director
514 Poplar St.
Columbia, PA USA 17512-2130

Questions and letter of intent by January 31, 2018: Noel Poirier, Museum Director (This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

The jury judging this contest will consist of three experienced professionals in the field of watch repair and restoration selected by the Museum Director of the NAWCC. The decision of the judges will be final.

The winner of the Pritchard Prize will receive a certificate and a cash prize of $1,800. Winners, and others who have submitted interesting projects, are encouraged to submit an article documenting their projects for publication in an NAWCC periodical. Winners will be announced at the 2018 NAWCC National Convention in York, Pennsylvania, July 19 – July 22, 2018.

Click HERE to download a PDF copy of the rules above.






    mus 2Arev